PDA

View Full Version : Off Topic Can anyone help?



kevthehover - n/a
5-Mar-06, 02:29 PM
Hi,

Can anyone help? i have an extenal DVD/CD rewriter i wish to put Hovercraft videos etc on to the disc but everytime i use the DVD/CD rewriter it freezes my computor up and i have to reboot this also happens when i try to use the cd player.

I thank you all in advance for any replies i would appreciate any help.

Kindest Regards

Kev http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_sad.gif

srn4 - n/a
5-Mar-06, 02:41 PM
Are you running XP?

Is it a USB drive?



It could be a number of things, but the most obvious one is that you dont have the correct drivers installed properly.



Right click on "my computer" then "properties", and then "hardware" and select "device manager".



With your disk drive plugged in and switched on it should appear somewhere in the device manager, if there is an icon in there with a little yellow question mark then that tells you that something isnt wrong...



If the disk drive is shown as a "normal" icon then you could try clicking on it and re-installing the drivers, or alternativley, if thre is no icon for the disk drive you need to install some drivers from scratch!



Hope some of that is of help.... If it doesnt work, just kick it! http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_lol.gif



Good luck



Dunc

kevthehover - n/a
5-Mar-06, 03:55 PM
Hi Dunc



Yes it is XP and USB i have checked what you said and re installed the driver and the program and it is still freezing!

The rewriter is an LG Extenal 16X DVD/CD rewriter USB2.0 IEEE1394 the computor system is one of the latest. I bought an extenal Rewriter because the internal one with the system kept freezing as well and i thought a new one would stop this from happening.

Kev

Paul Fitz - n/a
5-Mar-06, 06:27 PM
I think it is most likely to be either the video driver or the motherboard chipset drivers. Search for both on the internet and see if there are updates. (this is possible even with a new PC.

srn4 - n/a
5-Mar-06, 07:03 PM
Yeah, what Paul said http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_smile.gif



If its a new system and it wont behave, can you take it back and complain?

Nickinoue - n/a
5-Mar-06, 09:25 PM
Hi paul, can u find out if the motherboard supports USB 2, one of my m8ts had a similar problem as his motherboard only supported USB 1.1.

Pauls suggestions sound right, the video diver should not have much effect on the ability to transfer data but the motherboard drivers could be to blame, reinstalling the drivers cannot do any harm aswell unless u remember you lost the disk after u have un-installed all of them http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_redface.gif .

Good luck

nick

srn4 - n/a
5-Mar-06, 10:01 PM
As the symptoms are the same for an internal and external drive, it is unlikley to be a USB2 compatibility issue. It is most likley to be the chipset drivers as these effectivley control the communications between the pci bus and the processor...



Dunc

kevthehover - n/a
5-Mar-06, 10:10 PM
How do update motherboard video adpter etc i have tried windows automatic updates and still have problems.

Kindest regards

Kev http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_sad.gif

Nickinoue - n/a
5-Mar-06, 10:15 PM
If you search for you motherboard on the internet it should come up with a list of updated drivers....i needed them for mine when the sound on mine corrupted http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_eek.gif .

Did you build the computer or is it a bourght one?

Nick

kevthehover - n/a
5-Mar-06, 10:41 PM
Hi Nick,



i bought the computor direct from the manufacturer but had loads of problems with them and they are unhelpful.The computor works fine apart from DVD/CD player i have found the motherboard on system devices and checked motherboard resourses but it was useing the best device. please note im not a computor genie so dont get too technical http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_biggrin.gif

Nickinoue - n/a
5-Mar-06, 10:52 PM
Hi,

I built up my computer so advise is coming from a person who can rip stuff out and replace whenever it breaks http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_confused.gif . It might be worth looking at the xp help...rarely provides good info but worth a try. Calling the CD/RW company might be worth a try aswel!

Nick

PS. I dont advise pulling stuff out of a bourght computer lol http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_eek.gif

kevthehover - n/a
5-Mar-06, 11:10 PM
Nick,

Thanks for your help i will contact the DVD/CD company as they are helpful i will let you know how i get on but thanks for your help.

Kev

Sean Atterbury - n/a
6-Mar-06, 04:22 AM
Could also be the writer software, I had the same problem and just reinstalling the software I was using seemed to do the trick, a DLL file did not copy over propper. http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_razz.gif



Also the programe must be able to write DVD's, no good having a fancy DVD writer and no program to write it, DVD's are a lot different to the normal CD/R CD/RW.



Good luck, I know where you comming from... http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_cool.gif

john andrews - n/a
6-Mar-06, 08:02 PM
Hi



One common problem with writing software - especially with dvd's is that when you get it out of the box or even when you get a new system - is that the regions are not set and I have had this cause conflicts on several occasions with my set up and others I have built.

So as Follows

My Computer

Right click on your drive and select properties.



select hardware



double click on the appropriate drive



select dvd region as uk for region 2



click apply and hopefully this should have sorted your problem out.



Also one point to note that if you are using raid and you store to a drive other than your main this may cuase conflicts when writing back to a disc as it tries to put temp files to the c drive whilst accessing your other drive and raid does not like it - especially mine where it is a ci raid card and not on board



hope this helps



John