PDA

View Full Version : fiberglass or aluminium

jim w - n/a
12-May-06, 04:25 PM
Hi All

Im new to this, and am planing to build a racing craft (wife permitting) now Ive some recent exerience with fiberglass and am well awere how easy it is to over wet the fiberglass adding excess weight, as Im a fabrication engineer and used to working with metals a aluminium craft looks a far esier build, as more controle over the weight with regards to gauge of material thickness etc. Has any one got any experience of this?

Regards

Jim

hovercad - n/a
12-May-06, 07:55 PM
Hello

Richard Evans did one.(He's the only person I know that has no doubt theres's many more.)

http://www.rhevans.co.uk

This may help.

Craig

Michel - n/a
12-May-06, 10:11 PM
Think about:

will it be easy to fix a crashed hull ?

Look at the bottom of various ones and imagine how could aluminium reacts at sliding on rocks, bumping bank, etc....

My opinion is alu is more fitted for cruising craft than racing, you have more control on risks.

May be I' m wrong.....

hovercad - n/a
12-May-06, 10:26 PM
Just playing devils advocate.

wooden craft.

Nails hammer bit of glue string.DONT have to wait hours for the thing to cure.LOl out next race.

But this is someone thats been trying for years to go racing maybe next year.

So ignore me.

http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_biggrin.gif

jim w - n/a
14-May-06, 07:31 PM
may be Ill go for ferrocement http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_lol.gif

I think I'll design it sectional and rivet it together so it will be quicker to repair.

richardevans - n/a
15-May-06, 08:49 AM
Speedymartin wrote:

"Think about:

will it be easy to fix a crashed hull ?"

It certainly is easy - there's no need (he says bravely).