PDA

View Full Version : Hovercrafting to Work - Is it feasible!?

phildabeast - n/a
18-Oct-06, 06:41 PM
Hi Guys

First Post on here, so Hello to you all!

I'm not a hovercraft expert, but while I was at uni we did a project with hovercraft and ended up taking a few trips to k+m products to see what they did - so the seed was sown!

I now work near an estuary of the River Ribble in lancashire - near Preston. The site (BAE) I work at has an entrance near to estuary. I'm looking to move house at some point, so had a (probably crazy) idea that I could move somewhere on the other side of the river and hovercraft to work. It's not so daft.. is it??

So - here's where I'm talking about:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=penwortham,+ (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=penwortham,+uk&ie=UTF8&z=13&ll=53.727186,-2.836018&spn=0.069467,0.21698&t=h&om=1&iwloc=A) uk&ie=UTF8&z=13&ll=53.727186,-2.836018&spn=0 .069467,0.21698&t=h&om=1&iwloc=A

The site is clearly marked with the runway, and I'm at the bottom right of it in one of the white buildings at the end of Pool Lane (lane marked if you zoom in). That is where the entrance is.

As for somewhere to live and therefore start from, I was thinking about Longton or Higher Penwortham. Longton would probably be more feasible for launching a hovercraft I think - probably flat enough to just drive out on to the sand / water...

I will of course go look at the landing/launching sites before I take this any further!

So a few questions:

1, Can I legally fly a hovercraft there? Do I need permission / license, lights, radios, insurance?

2, If I obtain permission to launch (from land owners??) and storage space at either end, is that enough to allow me to get on with it?

3, How does one go about finding out who owns what land?

Thanks for reading, I hope you don't think I'm mad!

Don83000 - n/a
18-Oct-06, 11:08 PM