PDA

View Full Version : help: hovercraft bar (with an all electric setup)

jcline - n/a
27-Jan-07, 11:15 PM
Hi folks,

I am currently a graduate student in the process of designing my thesis project. After a conversation with my professor, I have decided to employ hover technology in my design. To give you a little background on my project; I was recently given the opportunity to design and build a functional, mobile artifice for our local museum. The hope is to explore the poetics of organization and the ritual of use. When complete, it will provide an efficient service platform from which to serve food and drinks during museum exhibitions and social functions. Once completed, the cart will be donated to the museum.

Basically I am going to create a bar from which to serve patrons drinks and food. The bar will only move from storage to the designated service area when needed. Think of it as a big rectangular box, approximately 3' wide x 3' high x 7' long. I haven't exactly decided on materials yet but I'm hoping to keep the cart to around 600 lbs.

So this is where I need your help. I have decided instead of using standard caster wheels to move the cart, I want to make the cart hover just above the ground (approximately 3/4"). When needed an employee can simply start her up and push her to the designate area. Once in place everything will be turned off and the cart will rest on the floor. After the event, the cart will be started up and pushed back into storage. The design and interface has to be completely user friendly because I will not always be there to instruct.