PDA

View Full Version : Redex Engine Cleaner and Rotax

Dan Moss - n/a
28-May-07, 08:24 PM
Hi all,

I have recently started maintaining my Air Cadet Squadron Hovercraft. I have a general idea about most things but im no expert. Our cyclone has a Rotax 447 which is running very roughly and as far as im aware it hasn't been serviced for years! My boss reckons Redex engine cleaner is appropriate but I have my doubts knowing it is an aviation engine. I would just like your views on this and any help would be much appreciated.

jon_curtis - n/a
28-May-07, 08:58 PM
i wouldn't put redex through it!

http://www.ultralightnews.com/enginemaintenance/index.html

check out the manuals on this site and you wont go to wrong http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_smile.gif

Greg Kendall - n/a
29-May-07, 11:58 AM
Dan

Give me a ring , 07976 462494, 01226 751652

We run several of these at the Army College they are absolutely bomb proof if they still have the cooling fan.

Redex will decoke it but that wont be the problem and you may do a piston with it.

Im in Barnsley so i can call and have a look .

New plugs

Strip and clean the carb.

Clean the airfilter

New fuel and make sure the oil ratio is bang on

New fuel filter whilst we are on with it.

If it wont start put a little fuel on the airfilter. The choke plunger sometimes isnt enough on these. few pulls and it should go.

I think we spoke a few years ago at Rother Valley,You opposite quick fit i think .

Greg Kendall Yorks & NE Branch

Cpl. Bee - n/a
31-May-07, 11:08 PM
Hi all,

I have recently started maintaining my Air Cadet Squadron Hovercraft.

Quick question if you don't mind but what squadron are you from??