PDA

View Full Version : Lift engines - torque convertors?

profqwerty - n/a
2-Aug-07, 07:48 PM
Hi,

Is it possible to use a small motor bike engine as the lift engine? I assume it's possible to turn a 2 stroke one on its side and rotate the carb upright?

How would these perform? I've never used bike engines before - are they simple to hoverify (remove gearbox and use PTO and the like?) Also it would have to be air cooled! What sort of bike size is useful though - are they lightweight?

Thanks for the help!

Toby

Hornet - n/a
3-Aug-07, 10:16 AM
It can and has been done but its a fair bit of work to convert a bike engine. You will need to remove the gearbox internals and also get drive from the crankshaft. Something like a 250cc single cyclinder 2 stroke from trail bike would work well. These engines usually put out between 23hp to 30hp. Only problem might be that a lot of bikes in this size have been heading down the 4 stroke route for a while. You will also need to adapt some type of starting mechanism for the engine.

kevinf - n/a
3-Aug-07, 10:17 AM
Hi Toby

The simple answer is yes, they can be and are used. I used a Yamaha DT250 for lift in an F1 craft many years ago, I'm pretty sure Fred Wilson uses a 100cc Yamaha bike engine for lift, and Bryan White has done the same. Many of the Swedish drivers use high powered mini-moto engines.

Hoverising the engines is easy, as long as you stick to 2 strokes. Tap a connection into the crankcase or the carb inlet for the vacuum fuel pump. They don't have to be air cooled either, there is no reason why you cannot put a radiator under the fan. The biggest problem is usually starting them, you will need to fit a pullstart cup to the flywheel for a rope start. Pullstarts are possible but generally need to be anticlockwise like seagull outboards.

Kevin

u415276 - n/a
3-Aug-07, 11:28 AM
Bike engines have been used many times with varying success.