PDA

View Full Version : Driver technique

monkey13 - n/a
29-Nov-07, 12:03 PM
Hi I'm a design student at Coventry University designing a concept hovercraft. However I have no experience of controlling a hovercraft and what are the best ways of controlling larger hovercraft between 8m 26ft in length. What are the major problems or difficulties in controlling Hovercraft?

Thanks Nathan

tonybroad - n/a
30-Nov-07, 05:56 PM
what's the concept ?

the biggest problem is having no brakes ! but seriously hovercraft are not as difficult to control as people think it just takes some time to get the feel of them

will your craft have a seperate lift fan or a single fan feeding skirt and for thrust, large single fan craft appear more difficult to manage than ones with seperate lift

there's plenty of pics on www.hovercraftvideo.co.uk look under the cruising pics to see larger craft

good luck - keep us posted

Tony

GavinParson - n/a
1-Dec-07, 07:04 AM
what's the concept ?

there's plenty of pics on www.hovercraftvideo.co.uk look under the cruising pics to see larger craft

Tony

What 26ft craft? I don't think so! For craft that big control is a completely different matter to leaning on bends.

Best you contact a commercial manufacturer such as Griffon or Slingsby.

You enter the realm of ballast shifting, skirt shifting and propeller pitch changing.

Or look at the River Rover which has elevons to roll the craft thus increasing the turning effect.

Most amateur cruising craft employ none of these systems and rely on driver weight shifting and use of rudders alone.

tonybroad - n/a
1-Dec-07, 03:10 PM
I had in mind the James Bond Osprey 5 which i've seen fly - how long is one of those

Tony

jar2 - n/a
1-Dec-07, 04:27 PM
The Osprey5 is 16' long.