PDA

View Full Version : MCA coding HELPPPPPPPPP

andymum - n/a
3-Oct-08, 05:50 PM
Mca coding HELPPPPPP

Can anyone tell me why it is impossible to get mca coding to run a hovercraft rental buieness when the fuel setup is the same as a dive rib,

both hovercraft hov pod and a dive rib have fuel tanks under the seat but ribs can be coded for buisness but hovercraft cant????????

Any and all advice most welcome even more so if you have a solution to this problem

cheers

jar2 - n/a
3-Oct-08, 06:23 PM
I have no direct experience of this (or a solution http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_confused.gif ) but I would have thought that HovPod themselves could provide you with a certificate specifying compliance with the HSC 2000 Code which you could then use to get a safety certificate from the MCA? It may be that HovPod already have class type approval in which case it should just be a formality. Of course, if it doesn't comply with the HSC or DSC/BHSR requirements then you are scr**wed http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_eek.gif

andymum - n/a
3-Oct-08, 06:40 PM
The only solution offered by the manufacture is to run as a club,

But have been told by mca that under the hovercraft act 1968 they have control over coding on water and land for these craft if used for reward and such have to be coded.

cheers

hovmart - n/a
3-Oct-08, 08:12 PM
get back on hovpods case you paid enought let them sort it

andymum - n/a
3-Oct-08, 08:15 PM
To be honest they have had there money the club solution is there answer and that is there response????

hovmart - n/a
3-Oct-08, 08:20 PM
its not good leaving you to sort it out

jar2 - n/a
3-Oct-08, 08:22 PM
It depends what they told you when you bought the craft - I wouldn't think that the "club" option will wash with an insurance company as it would probably be seen as an attempt to circumvent safety legislation.

andymum - n/a
3-Oct-08, 08:23 PM