PDA

View Full Version : Fan CAD scan help

Keith Oakley - n/a
5-Nov-08, 01:42 PM
As part of the research programme into Fan Noise I'm working with the University of Hertfordshire on a CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) computer model of a typical Light Hovercraft fan setup. The aim is to identify and quantify typical sources of turbulence generated noise to compare and contrast with the pictures we're seeing from Noisecam and other practical tests. We need an accurate CAD model of a (say 5Z) Fan blade to feed into the model. Does anyone in our wide circle of expertise have access to a Laser scanner that could do this?

jon_curtis - n/a
5-Nov-08, 05:08 PM
ah, you beat me to it! http://hovercraft.org.uk/images/icons/smiley_icons/icon_smile.gif

Hi Keith, i work as a mechanical and thermal design engineer for a large multinational aerospace company, as part of my day job, i use EFD pro, which is a CFD add on to our drawing package Pro/engineer. I have been spending a bit of time building a model to run in our CFD packaging over the last few weeks. My aim was to run a duct model and with the results from this, do a complete craft with airflow through the plenum and skirt.

I to am after a decent fan blade model, i have a simple model of a fan blade (attached) however this is not the true geometry of a multiwing blade.

I have a model of one of kens 925mm intergrated ducts, with a t bar i have been working on. see pic

index.php?t=getfile&id=1921&private=0

With regards to 3d scanning, i have not had wonderfully good experiences of what these things can produce, however perhaps the tech has come on in the last few years. The best bet would be to contact multiwing or hascon direct as they will certainly be able to supply a 3d model of a blade, however when i asked they would not supply to me, you might have more luck, perhaps the uni you mentioned might be able to setup something?