PDA

View Full Version : Cruising in the South East

TUSKY
12-Sep-09, 09:15 PM
Hi I am new to hovercrafts and I pick up my cruising hovercraft next week, I have some land to use her on but would like to get her out on some water, any advice on trying to find locations , OK so I am not far from the sea at Eastbourne/Bexhill that would be a good place to start maybe but thought a safer trip on a river or estuary would be a safer place to start, is there a list anywere on a site which may have some ideas and locations slip exceptable slipways, are there any regualr meetings of like minded in the Sussex area? any help would be appriciated.

Many thanks

gavinparson
13-Sep-09, 07:47 AM
The best cruising in the South East is here in North Kent around the Thames, Medway and Swale as there are miles of mudflats, sandbanks, shallow water and interesting places.
Most of the Sussex coast is pebble beaches although there are some potentially hoverable areas but you'd need to check local byelaws first.

You should make contact with members with local knowledge. Speak to members of the "South Downs Twig" who meet in Haywards Heath. They meet regularly although they're not regular cruisers. Chris Searle is another cruiser who has knowledge of some of the South coast estuaries.

Really you should have come up to the Sheppey cruise this weekend and met the hard core cruisers who could show you the area and give you plenty of advice. If you get a move on you could still get there in time!

If you want advice about North Kent then let me know.

TUSKY
13-Sep-09, 10:00 AM
Thats a great help thanks, how do I find out about these cruising trips? local club, Kent is not that far so that sounds good, I will make try and make contact with South Down Twig, do you in North kent mainly cruise? are there any clubs in Sussex that do that as well? thanks for your help. Also being new how do I check local byelaws?

gavinparson
13-Sep-09, 05:31 PM