PDA

View Full Version : Hovercraft Design

John2
17-Apr-10, 06:14 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum. My name is John.
My wife and I have been looking high and low for a hovercraft design to build, but they all look very "hovercrafty" in our opinion (no harm or offense intended to any one design) and our aesthetic eye wants something more streamlined and visually impacting, like a fighter plane or rocket car, so she asked me to design something that is more along the lines of a performace cruser lightship.

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to collaborate on assisting me with my design for a hovercraft which I hope will transition to ground effect. I have been working on conceptualization for about 8 months now and wanted to get expert (hands on) opinions for the three iterations so far before moving on to the next level.

The design is still open for changes if required but understand that the design isn't just a quick paper napkin that lacks all the engineering principles and required mathematics to make the design feasible, so please point out changes believed to be required with signifcant reason for life or safety and not just because it "looks" wrong, unless it is wrong.

There is still a lot left to do such as analyzing the aerodynamic, volume coefficients, and hydrodynamics stability and scantlings etc, but a lot is already done. Questions will trigger those results in the interest of reducing bandwidth use, so please ask.

I'm attaching quick pictures for discussion. Any opinions and advise would be greatly appreciated. Here is the first of three designs in the running.

Thanks
J

John2
17-Apr-10, 06:17 PM
Here is second of third design in the running for critical discussion.

J

John2
17-Apr-10, 06:19 PM
Finally, the third of three iterations.
Questions? Comments?

J

curtis5420
18-Apr-10, 10:33 AM
looks like you want to spend lots of money, on something that looks good, without much thought about how it works, or why.