PDA

View Full Version : new member :-)

krothero
7-Oct-10, 03:20 PM
Hi Folks, I've joined this club to get some information. im new to hovering and im thinking of designing and building a craft from scratch. im an aircraft engineer by trade so the technicalities wont be a problem. any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! especialy on finger skirt design. I've already found some interesting bits and bobs, but any more info is always welcome. like what the difference in shape between a straight finger and an extended finger is? it's not going to be a racing craft, more of a recreational toy. i look forward to hearing from any of you!
cheers, karl.:D
p.s. ive had my account validated, but i still cant view any of the galleries?
does anyone know why this is? thanks

Winst
8-Oct-10, 07:20 AM
p.s. ive had my account validated, but i still cant view any of the galleries?
does anyone know why this is? thanks

Jon Pert will be able to help you with this.
Shouldn't be long before he appears.

Jon Pert
8-Oct-10, 07:57 AM
Hmmm, odd.

Do you get any error messages when you try and view an album?

Try viewing this one and let me know what happens...

http://www.hovercraft.org.uk/album.php?albumid=26

broad5186
8-Oct-10, 07:59 AM
hello and welcome to our world

a bit more info on your ideas would help - one person ? sea or inland - engine type/size

a craft from scratch is a daunting task, there are several sets of plans for various craft that make the home build process easier and you can alter and develop them to suit your needs

the clubs plans for the challenger are a little dated now and the skirt is not perfect

skirt design as with most aspects of hovercraft is a deep dark hole and you'll get five different answers to the same question - skirt design differs from craft to craft based on the weight and footprint of the skirt, finger skirts are relativley straightforward to make but getting skirt design right first time with a scratch build will be a challenge