Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 17

Thread: What to use as choke lever?

  1. #1
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default What to use as choke lever?

    Any ideas what I can use as a choke lever for my craft?



    Ideally I want to mount the lever somewhere on the dashboard.





    I had thought about using the kind you get in older cars but they only come in set lengths and cant easily be adjusted (In length) (From what I have seen...)



    What are people using?



    Thanks.



    Dunc

  2. #2
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    Pitty you guys live in such a cold place, here in africa we only need to worry about fuel gettin to the carbs and wrooom off we go, no choke or anything like that.



    Pitty the sole that need legwormers and thermal undies...

  3. #3
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    Quote Originally Posted by srn4
    Any ideas what I can use as a choke lever for my craft?



    Ideally I want to mount the lever somewhere on the dashboard.





    I had thought about using the kind you get in older cars but they only come in set lengths and cant easily be adjusted (In length) (From what I have seen...)



    What are people using?



    Thanks.



    Dunc


    You could use a cable level such as the ones K&M sell, for the handle bars, or a bicycle gear lever. the choke is really only used for a few minutes, so I don't feel it needs a huge amount of attention.




  4. #4
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    Dunc,



    On my EA81 I just use the original cable and pull choke that was used on the pickup. It's too short to reach the front of the craft so it's just mounted at the back - as Ewan says, it's only used for a few minutes so it's no real hassle having to reach back to pull it (you could also wire the choke warning light (a switch in the pull knob) to the dash if you a reminder!).


  5. #5
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    Thats very true. I guess sticking it at the back wont be such a big issue.



    Its just not very tidy..*shrug*



    Dunc

  6. #6
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    I used the throttle lever off a lawnmower - nice tidy lever with a friction device. Just happened to have one on the shelf.



    I mounted it at the front to begin with, but the cable was constantly sticking due to the salt/sand ingress, so I gave up and put it at the back under the engine cover.



    Ian

  7. #7
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    I have gone for the seriously rediculusly hightech solution to a simple problem!....



    I am in the process of setting up a system which has a servo (off a radio controled plane) In the engine bulkhead which is linked to the choke via a short bit of normal cable.



    On the dashboard I will have a waterproof knob so I can manually set the position of the choke and the servo will automatically move to that position and hold....



    The elctronics work pretty well on prototype board, I will make a final version on PCB and see how well it performs.



    Kinda over the top but it will do the job and should be prety cool...



    Dunc

  8. #8
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: What to use as choke lever?

    You know, I have been watching Mithbusters, they use remote on just about everything, Y don't you just make the while craft remote, thus no wires and more space for petrol and other junk, Plus you'll be the talk of the community...



    I see that you have a lot of experience with that sort of thing, maybe later you can give it a try and see how it works..

Similar Threads

  1. new member requires advice/ tips on rotax choke use
    By keith rhodes - n/a in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5-Feb-06, 05:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •