Thread: new aluminium hovercraft

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Less than 10 posts so far! USER IS NOT AVAILABLE

Default new aluminium hovercraft

Hello to everbody!!!

Im a newbie and need help !

Im in the process of designing my first build and could do with a lot of tips and suggestions on ways to go ie (ducted fan vs unducted prop )hull height from floor to top of skirt (planing surface angle)if this is paramount in a design, power to weight ratio s, whats the best floatation medium expanding foam vs solid substance , etc etc a quick insight into my build plans are as follows .

Im using aluminium as the hull medium it will be built with some aircraft design in mind ie skeletel trusses etc for rigidity and i had thought of injecting the foam medium into the cavity so as i can finish the welding and fabrication without causing undo heat to the foam ! this also gives a good level of density to the craft when the foam medium drys, whats the best skirt/ material? ! the engines i have for lift and thrust are as follows ,

lift= a MZ 34 313CC 27HP AT 6250 RPM 2 STROKE

thrust= BMW R1OO WITH ROTAX DESIGN GEARBOX COMISSIONED BY SCRIMINGER ENGINES i think the engine is approx 90 hp

i did get a prop with this engine its a 3 bladed carbon fibre approx 2 metres dia .

im ok on the welding and fabrication side but could do with some help with wheres the best to mount lift fans , thrust aspects should i go with pulleys or hydrolics who is going to rip me off and who knows what there talking about(shops)etc

any help from those who know what there talking about would be a great help!!

thanks andy

Default Re: new aluminium hovercraft

Hi Andy,

Welcome to the board.

Are you planning on racing or cruising with the craft?

If it's cruising then: