Thread: What pulleys??

Less than 10 posts so far!

Default What pulleys??

Hi,

Im an final year motorsport tech student, I am designing the drivetrain for an all electric Formula student single seater race car. Im intending to use a 90mm synchro belt, (HTD type) with 14mm Pitch. However, I cant find any alluminium or Nylon ones on the the net, the cast iron are far to heavy, as are the steel. I got reading into your forum's, and it seems like ally is very popular on the crafts. I was wondering if anyone could suggest any brands, websites, etc where i could purchase 14mm pitch, 28 tooth and 48tooth, 90mm wide pulleys made from ally or nylon??

Any suggestions would be really appreciated!

Thanks,

Jack

Extremely active > 250 posts! Scrutineer
    Club Member

Default Re: What pulleys??

We tend to use 50mm, 8mm HTD, which absorbs phenomenal power- the best part of 200Bhp. Are you sure you aren't over specifying for yours?

Most manufacturers can supply as above but from a very limited range of aluminium castings. The smaller pulley will almost certainly have to be steel.

Links to manufacturer's websites can be found on the home page
    I'r Gad!

More than 10 posts! Club Member

[QUOTE=Ewan Black;66759]We tend to use 50mm, 8mm HTD, which absorbs phenomenal power- the best part of 200Bhp. Are you sure you aren't over specifying for yours?

Ewan, my guess is he is specifying close to or within the Gates belts selection guide.

The 8mm HTD only get to 90hp and 6000 rpm input on that guide, that is for general public release though, the actual capability will be higher as you know. Electric race cars can pack more go than petrol ones.

A company in USA called Procharger makes a good selection of CNC 14mm pulleys in alloy and does custom work as well. also Pfeiffer, BDL.

Ewan, I have a question for you regarding pulleys and belts, also open of course to anyone else who wants to