Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie looking for crusing craft advice

Less than 10 posts so far! Club Member

Default Newbie looking for crusing craft advice

Hi,

I've only just joined and so sorry to be asking for advice first off !

I am totally new to this sport but I'm looking for a 2 ( ideally 3 man) cruising craft for use on my local estuary and occasional trips out in calm weather to the Sea / local beaches only accessable from the water. I am looking for a pre built craft a couple of years old or new. Budget up to 10k.

From my research the choice seems to be limited to a Flying Fish Marlin or Hovpod ? I'd really appreciate advice on which members think is the best craft along with any suggestions for other craft I should consider ?

Many thanks in advance for any assistance that can be given

Iain

Forum God > 400 posts

Default Re: Newbie looking for crusing craft advice

Hello and welcome!

The first thing I suggest that you do is look at the Buyers Guide. This will give lots of advice, and with your budget you should be able to find something worthwhile. However - it may take a little while to find a good craft and I would advise patience!

Once you have digested the Buyers Guide, then the next stop is probably the Liks and Downloads page - its on the home page. From here you can get details of the main manufacturers. With you budget, it is worth calling each one and discussing what is available - they sometimes have late second-user stuff available. In the larger craft, 10k should get you a late second-hand craft in excellent condition, whilst the same budget will buy a smaller craft new. My advise would be to go for a larger craft - the number of seats in a craft is not necessarily the same as the number it can carry in "real" conditions! As an example, my craft is a three seater, but I normally only carry two as that allows for a safety margin for when the conditions turn for the worse.