Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beaches

Less than 10 posts so far!

Default Beaches

Hi I'm new to this BTW .

How do you find out whether you can use a hovercraft on any particular beach ?

Regards

Smurf

Forum God > 400 posts Club Member Jon Pert's Avatar

Default Re: Beaches

Hi there.

Firstly, what type of craft do you have?

Secondly, please try and find somewhere else to operate! I will explain this below.

We have been encouraging against the use of beaches because, in the past, this has led to hovercraft being banned from that area. This is mainly because of people making a nuisance of themselves, creating a lot of noise in one area and breaking down...a lot.

We are trying to turn the tide of conventional thinking that hovercraft are noisey and a dangerous.

We have had long correspondance to re-gain launch rights at some beaches and they have only been approved with strict guidelines that club members must abide by ie: launch permit needed, only launching NOT hovering up and down the beach knocking over old ladies etc, must be a club member, craft must have SSR number, must have insurance etc etc. These permits are in place to protect our members. If someone who is not a club member causes an issue then it is only them that gets banned, not our club members.

If you feel you must operate on a beach please do the following:

1, Contact the beach warden and explain exactly what you want to do. If he says no then that means no!
    2, Stay well away from members of the public, they become like magnets when travelling towards them and an accident is the last thing you need.
    3, Get insurance.
    4, Avoid prolonged operation if your craft is noisey.
    5, Ensure the engine and electrics are well marinised, salt is a killer!
    6, Don't kill anyone!